Call: +255 22 2668992

Department of Linguistics and Literary Studies

The Department of Linguistics and Literary studies (LLS) is under the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences of The Open University of Tanzania (OUT). Currently, the department offers highly marketable programmes such as certificate in French; three bachelor programmes namely, Bachelor of Arts in English Language and Linguistics (BAELL), Bachelor of Arts in Literature (BALIT) and Bachelor of Arts in Kiswahili and Creative Studies (BA KISW), one Masters programme namely, Master of Arts in Kiswahili (MA KISW) offered by Thesis, Distance, Evening and Executive.




Head of Department

Name  : Dr. Dunlop Ochieng
Mobile:+225 684 053 363
Email  : dunlop.ochieng@out.ac.tz

Staff and Programmes In The Department

Name Title Contacts

Dr Dunlop Ochieng

Lecturer

Email:Dunlop.ochieng@out.ac.tz

Dr Mohamed Omary Maguo

Director DCM, Lecturer

Email:Mohamed.omary@out.ac.tz

Dr Hadija Jilala

Lecturer

Email: hadija.jilala@out.ac.tz

Dr Salma Hamad

Lecturer

Email: salma.hamad@out.ac.tz

Dr Nasra Habibu

Lecturer

Email:nasra.habibu@out.ac.tz

Caroline Mugolozi

Assistant Lecturer

Email:caroline.mugolozi@out.ac.tz

Emmanuel Oscar Msangi

Assistant Lecturer

Email:emmanuel.msangi@out.ac.tz

Emmanuel Kisika

Assistant Lecturer

Email:emmanuel.kisika@out.ac.tz

Mosi Masatu Mlibwa

Assistant Lecturer

Email:mosi.mlibwa@out.ac.tz

Costantin Njalambaya

Assistant Lecturer

Email:costantin.njalambaya@out.ac.tz

Lazaro Senkuku Charles

Assistant Lecturer

Email:lazaro.charles@out.ac.tz

Mr. Yohana Makeja

Assistant Lecturer

Email:yohana.john@out.ac.tz

Bakari Kombo

Assistant Lecturer

Email:bakari.kombo@out.ac.tz

Frida Alfred Mbwafu

Assistant Lecturer

Email:frida.mbwafu@out.ac.tz

Ms. Eliza Kyara

Assistant Lecturer

Email:elizabeth.kyara@out.ac.tz

Dr. Frank Julius

Lecturer

Email:frank.julius@out.ac.tz

Mr. Yusuph Mhangwa

Assistant Lecturer

Email:yussuf.mhangwa@out.ac.tz

Mr. Faustine D. John

Assistant Lecturer

Email:faustine.john@out.ac.tz

Ms. Theresia Mbogo

Assistant Lecturer

Email:theresia.mbogo@out.ac.tz

Dr. Jacob Leopard

Lecturer

Email:jacob.leopold@out.ac.tz