Call: +255 22 2668992

Department of Curriculum And Instruction

Wecome to the department of Curriculum and Instruction [C&I]. The name of the department is made by two words; Curriculum and Instruction. This is because there is a great relationship between curriculum and instruction. Curriculum is a design, or roadmap for learning, and as such focuses on knowledge and skills that are judged important to learn. On the other hand Instruction is the means by which that learning will be achieved. The  C& I department  is among the five (5) current departments within the Faculty of Education which seeks to research, develop, and implement curriculum changes that increase student achievement within and outside of schools.  The department focuses on how students learn and the best ways to educate. The department is also interested in new trends in teaching and learning process.  It equips the learners [teachers and those aspire to become teachers] new and appropriate teaching techniques and approaches [pedagogical issues] for the purpose of meeting the needs of the 21st century learner.

 The courses within the department try to find answers to questions such as “why to teach”, “what to teach”, “how to teach” and “how to evaluate” in instructional process. We anticipate that the graduate from the department of C&I will be an exemplary teacher, teacher educator, and educational researcher in curriculum, instruction, supervision, and related areas.  Further, the graduate will be in a position to promote a thriving intellectual community, recognized for high quality research and scholarly contributions; exemplary undergraduate and graduate teaching; and professional service and leadership in and outside of Tanzania.




Head of Department

Name:  Dr. Mary Ogondiek
Mobile:0754051096 or 0718570296
Email: mary.ogondiek@out.ac.tz
 

Staff and Department Programmes

NAME TITLE CONTACTS
Dr. Felix Mulengeki Senior Lecturer Email: felix.mulengeki@out.ac.tz
Dr Mary Ogondiek Lecturer Email: mary.ogondiek@out.ac.tz
Dr. Evaristo Mtitu Lecturer Email: evaristo.mtitu@out.ac.tz
Mr. Mdonya H. Nkelego Assistant   Lecturer mdonya.nkelego@out.ac.tz
Ms. Sura Ngenzi Assistant   Lecturer Email:sura.ngenzi@out.ac.tz
Mr. Yusufu Mhangwa Assistant   Lecturer Email: yussuf.mhangwa@out.ac.tzz
Mr Kassim Salehe Assistant   Lecturer Email:Kassim.salehe@out.ac.tz
Mr. Charles, Christopher Assistant Lecturer Email:
Dr.Namamba, Adam Lecturer Email: adam.manamba@out.ac.tz;
Dr.Zamzam Nyandara Lecturer Email:zamzam.nyandara@out.ac.tz
Dr.Janeth Kigobe Assistant   Lecturer Email: janeth.kigobe@out.ac.tz
Mr Andrew Komba Tutorial Assistant Email: andrew.komba@out.ac.tz
 Mr.Nderego,Edga Assistant  Lecturer  Email: edger.nderego@out.ac.tz
Dr. Jesse Lukindo Lecturer Email: jesse.lukindo@out.ac.tz