Call: +255 22 2668992

Department of Educational Foundation

The Department of Educational Foundations is one among the five departments of the Faculty of Education. It has Nine Academic members of staff who are professionally trained to broaden and deepen educators’ understanding of educational problems, questions, issues, and controversies. The department aims to create in educational professionals an understanding of the socio-cultural, historical, international, philosophical, and political contexts of education so that they can make informed and wise decisions about educational problems and policy issues in order to better contribute to a just, diverse, democratic society.

The department has four areas of emphasis: History of education, Philosophy of education, sociology of education, and international/comparative education. Considering the social and diversity needs of the society, the department offers a Postgraduate Diploma in Education (PGDE) programme to non-education graduates who wish to become professional teachers. You are welcome.




Head of Department

Name:  Ms. Prisca Mbogo
Mobile:
Email:Prisca.mbogo@out.ac.tz

Staff and Department Programmes

NAME TITLE CONTACTS
Prof. Cornelia Muganda Professor Email: cornelia.muganda@out.ac.tz
Dr. Romwald Kairembo Lecturer Email: Romwald.kairembo@out.ac.tz
Mr. Furaha Said Assistant Lecturer Email:furaha.said@out.ac.tz
Mr. Lusekelo Mwanongwa Assistant Lecturer Email:lusekelo.mwanongwa@out.ac.tz
Mr Paul Msoka Assistant Lecturer Email: paul.msoka@out.ac.tz
Mr. Mark M. Issamaki Assistant Lecturer Email: mark.issamaki@out.ac.tz
Mr. Peter Kapalanaka Assistant Lecturer Email: Peter.kapalanaka@out.ac.tz
Mr. Rafael O’maitarya Assistant Lecturer Email: rafael.tumaini@out.ac.tz

Postgraduate Programmes

Postgraduate Diploma in Education