The Open University of Tanzania
Affordable Quality Education for All
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

The Faculty of Arts and Scoial Sciences was established in 1992 and is the oldest faculty at the Open University of Tanzania. The Faculty offers Certificates, Diplomas, Degrees and Postgraduate courses through Open and Distance Learning.


The faculty is comprised of the following departments.

1.              Department of History, Philosophy and Religious Studies (HPRS) 
2.              Department of Political Science and Public Administration (PSPA) 
3.              Department of Geography (GEOG)
4.              Department of Linguistics and Literary Studies (LLS)