Call: +255 22 2668992

Department of Environmental Studies

The department is being proposed for the Environmental Studies degree programmes in order to train cadres skilled in environmental studies of importance to Tanzania development. Graduates will be able to identify, assess and rectify environmental problems. The programme is designed to provide the scientific and managerial skills needed to tackle the environmental challenges of the 21st Century. In order to address these issues, the Environmental Studies degree program at OUT offers an interdisciplinary program that focuses on the serious environmental problems that we face in this century. The degree program in Environmental Studies is a multidisciplinary forum for the study of scientific, political, social and humanistic aspects of environmental problems. Presently, only a few expertises are available in this sensitive and relatively new field in Tanzania.

Head of Department

Name: Dr. Irene A. Tarimo
Mobile: +255754497747
                 +255782410640
Email:irene.tarimo@out.ac.tz

Staff and Programmes in the department

S/N

NAME

TITLE

CONTACTS

1

Dr. Irene Aurelia Tarimo

Head of Environmental Studies (ES) Department & Lecturer

irene.tarimo@out.ac.tz

2

Prof. Shaban A. Mbogo

Professor

shaban.mbogo@out.ac.tz

3

Dr. Josephat Saria

Senior Lecturer

josephat.saria@out.ac.tz

4

Dr. Lawi Yohana

Senior Lecturer & DES

lawi.yohana@out.ac.tz

5

Dr. Hassan Mateka

Lecturer & Director Mtwara RC.

hassan.mateka@out.ac.tz

6

Pamela Semiono

Assistant Lecturer and Faculty Exam Officer

pamela.semiono@out.ac.tz

7

Grace Maseta

Assistant Lecturer

grace.maseta@out.ac.tz

8

*Isabela Thomas

Assistant Lecturer

isabela.thomas@out.ac.tz

9

*Nangware Msofe

Assistant Lecturer

nangware.msofe@out.ac.tz

10

Shelard Mukama

Assistant Lecturer

shelard.mukama@out.ac.tz

11

Bernard Baraka

Tutorial Assistant

bernard.baraka@out.ac.tz

12

Peacebenedicta W. Komba

Tutorial Assistant

peacebenedicata.komba@out.ac.tz

13

Gervas Emmanuel

Assistant Lecturer

gervas.emmanuel@out.ac.tz

14

Msafiri Mabera

Assistant Lecturer

 

15

Dr. Leonard Fweja

Senior Lecturer & FSTES Dean

leonard.fweja@out.ac.tz

16

Dr. Joel Mihale

Senior Lecturer & FSTES Associate

joel.mihale@out.ac.tz

17

Dr. Elna Lyamuya

Lecturer & ICE HoD

elna.lyamuya@out.ac.tz

18

Dr. James Kisoza

Senior Lecturer

james.kisoza@out.ac.tz

19

Dr. Emmanuel Mhache

Senior Lecturer & FASS-Associate Dean

emmanuel.mhache@out.ac.tz

20

Prof. Tolly S. A. Mbwette

Professor & Former Vice Chancellor

tolly.mbwette@out.ac.tz

21

Prof. Emmanuel Kigadye

Professor & Director Research and Publications

emmanuel.kigadye@out.ac.tz