Call: +255 22 2668992

Department Sociology and Social work

The Department of Sociology and Social Work is among eleven Departments in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. The Department is headed by the Head of Department who works collaboratively with all members of academic and administrative staff in the department and the faculty as a whole to make sure that the programmes are ran successfully to meet the intended outcomes. Students are admitted in Faculty following all the admission procedures as per OUT set regulations for eligible undergraduate sociology students stipulated in the OUT Prospectus. 

Until 2011/2012 The Department offered two sister programmes: Bachelor of Arts in Sociology and Bachelor of Arts in Social Work which were considered two in one degree programme whereby students graduated either as social workers or as sociologists. However the twin programmes had been phased out and currently the department runs two undergraduate programmes (Bachelor of Arts in Sociology and Bachelor of Social Work). The Department also offers Postgraduate Diploma in Social Work, Master of Social Work and Master of Arts in Gender Studies. The Doctor of Philosophy of the Open University is another programme offered under the Department of Sociology and Social Work. The Department is preparing to offer none degree programme (Certificate and Diploma in Social Work) which has been developed by the Ministry of Health, Community Development, Gender, Elderly and Children in collaboration with the Association of the Schools of Social Work (ASSWOT).

The Department of Sociology and Social Work has the workforce that involves 1 Professor, 1 Associate Professor, 5 lecturers, 6 Assistant lectures and 3 Tutorial Assistants. 12 members of the Department are placed at the Open University Head Quarter and 4 are located in the Regional Centers.




Head of Department

Name:Dr Mariana J. Makuu
Mobile: 0783461759
Email:mariana.akuu@out.ac.tz

Staff and Programmes In The Department

NAME TITLE MOB EMAIL

Dr. Mariana Makuu

Lecturer

0716211283

mariana.makuu@out.ac.tz

Dr. Fauzia Mohamed

Lecturer

0655374953

fauzia.mohamed@out.ac.tz

Dr. Jacqueline Bundala

Lecturer

0714256501

jacqueline.bundala@out.ac.tz

Dr. Betty Mntambo

Lecturer

0754816058

betty.mntambo@out.ac.tz

Straton R. Kakoko

Assistant Lecturer

0715030242

straton.ruhinda@out.ac.tz

ChitegetseMinanago

Assistant Lecturer

0715874005

chitegetse.minanago@out.ac.tz

Johnas A. Buhori

Assistant Lecturer

0689056776

johnas.buhori@out.ac.tz

Atuwene A. Mbelle

Assistant Lecturer

0782265551

atuwene.mbele@out.ac.tz

Sipha Y. Shaaban

Assistant Lecturer

0784239573

sipha.shaaban@out.ac.tz

Alexander N, Kaija

Assistant Lecturer

0752605332

alexander.ndibalema@out.ac.tz

Jeddy K. Mzungu

Assistant Lecturer

0757889576

jeddy.mzungu@out.ac.tz

Asia W. Namamba

Tutorial Assistant

0754217769

asia.namamba@out.ac.tz

Joseph challe

Tutorial Assistant

0712857237

joseph.challe@out.ac.tz

Meinrad Lembuka

Tutorial Assistant

meinrad.lembuka@out.ac.tz